Skip Navigation

Committee on Financial Services

United States House of Representatives

Who We Are

The Full Committee

About The Financial Services Committee

During the 112th Congress, the Committee will be at the forefront of an effort to end the bailout of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Committee Republicans were the first to introduce a plan for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac in July 2009. Additionally, Republicans have introduced 7 bills to protect taxpayers by ending the bailout of Fannie and Freddie. You can read more about this plan by clicking here.

Another priority of Chairman Spencer Bachus is bringing a real end to ‘too big to fail.’ The Dodd-Frank Act wrote ‘too big to fail’ into law, placing taxpayers at risk for future bailouts. The Committee will examine the taxpayer exposure of the bailout authority created under this law.

The House Financial Services Committee has jurisdiction over all issues pertaining to the economy, the banking system, housing, insurance, and securities and exchanges. Additionally, the Committee also has jurisdiction over monetary policy, international finance, international monetary organizations, and efforts to combat terrorist financing.

The Committee oversees the Nation’s economy through its oversight of the Federal Reserve Board and individual reserve banks, the Treasury, the production and distribution of currency, and the Nation’s capital markets.
Agencies under oversight by the Committee include: the Federal Reserve, Treasury, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the National Credit Union Administration, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Federal Housing Finance Agency, and the Export-Import Bank.
Spencer Bachus, AL, Chairman
Jeb Hensarling, TX, Vice Chairman
 Peter King, NY
Edward Royce, CA
Frank Lucas, OK
Ron Paul, TX
Donald Manzullo, IL
Walter Jones, NC
Judy Biggert, IL
Gary Miller, CA
Shelley Moore Capito, WV
Scott Garrett, NJ
Randy Neugebauer, TX
Patrick T. McHenry, NC
John Campbell, CA
Michele Bachmann, MN
Thaddeus McCotter, MI
Kevin McCarthy,CA
Stevan Pearce, NM
Bill Posey, FL
Michael G. Fitzpatrick, PA
Lynn Westmoreland, GA
Blaine Luetkemeyer, MO
Bill Huizenga, MI
Sean P. Duffy, WI
Nan A. S. Hayworth, NY
Jim Renacci, OH
Robert Hurt, VA
Robert J. Dold, IL
David Schweikert, AZ
Michael G. Grimm, NY
Francisco R. Canseco, TX
Steve Stivers, OH
Barney Frank, MA, Ranking Member
Maxine Waters, CA
Carolyn Maloney, NY
Luis Gutierrez, IL
Nydia Velázquez, NY
Melvin Watt, NC
Gary Ackerman, NY
Brad Sherman, CA
Gregory Meeks, NY
Michael Capuano, MA
Rubén Hinojosa, TX
William Lacy Clay, MO
Carolyn McCarthy, NY
Joe Baca, CA
Stephen Lynch, MA
Brad Miller, NC
David Scott, GA
Al Green, TX
Emanuel Cleaver, MO
Gwen Moore, WI
Keith Ellison, MN
Ed Perlmutter, CO
Joe Donnelly, IN
Andre Carson, IN
Jim Himes, CT
Gary Peters, MI
John Carney, DE


Committee on Financial Services  •  2129 Rayburn House Office Building  •  Washington, DC 20515  •  (202) 225-7502
For Press Inquiries: (202) 226-0471